Fourth Annual Colgate IV: University of Otago Wins!

Over the weekend of March 30-April 1, 2013 the Colgate Debate Society held its fourth annual British Parliamentary Debate Tournament. Founded in 2010 by Austin Schwartz ’10, the tournament has continued to grow with 64 teams competing this year for the win! Along with judges and observers, there were nearly 170 participants in the tournament including debaters from Canada, New Zealand, and the US.

Supplies for the IV
Anna Proios ’16, Maddie Allen ’16 and CSU Coordinator John Adams at Sam’s Club in Syracuse buying supplies for the big weekend!
Colgate made it happen!
Colgate made it happen!

Preparations began months ago at the Worlds Universities Debate Championship in Berlin, Germany when Ben Woolgar (UK) was recruited as Chief Adjudicator and Gavin Illsley (UK) was recruited to judge and run the tab room. Alexa Windsor ’13 Debate Society President served as the tournament’s Convener with members of the Debate Society handling logistics–buying supplies, serving food, registering teams, shuttling participants, reserving classroom space and more!

The Winners! University of Otago New Zealand
The Winners!
University of Otago
New Zealand

Colgate IV Team Tab

Colgate IV Speaker Tab


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s